Women Worth Knowing: Meet Phyllis

Is it obvious yet that all the women I introduce to you are awesome? Awesome, I say! Phyllis is no different.

Kimmie, Phyllis, Lane, and Kerri

I met Phyllis at a slumber party a few years back. No, not for our children. Just a regular old slumber party at Kerri’s house. A bunch of grown women, sitting around drinking questionable cocktails, watching music videos from our childhood, and gabbing. This was after a Flickerstick concert (remember them?), the most of which, Phyllis and I sat out next to the VIP section, watching the line for the ladies toilet get longer and longer, discussing publishing, pitching shows to E!, and overalls. For the record, I am in favor of the latter.

 

What did I find out? That Phyllis is a very intelligent, very well read, very well spoken woman, whose sense of humor translates very well. Her sense of humor belongs in a martini glass. Dry and definitive, and likely exactly the kind of wit James Bond would find captivating. I could totally see him giving her much more than a second glance. (She’s kind of hot, too, and has glorious hair.)

Though we haven’t spent much time together ourselves, I am always hearing about her through mutual friends. She’s everyone’s favorite, and always at the top of the list when the question, “Who is coming to Dallas,” is asked. We always hope she’ll be on her way here. I do wish I got to see more of her. You’re going to wish the same thing.

Meet Phyllis.

Name: Phyllis Gault
Age Range: late 30s
Preferred Job Title: Domestic Ninja

Zombie Gaults want your brains.

Tell us about the time you pitched a travel show to a network:
My friend Angela and I came up with a great idea for a travel show. She lived in Boston and I lived in Indianapolis. We would drive back and forth to see each other to go on roadtrips every other month. We had a video camera on the dashboard to record our antics on these trips. After each adventure we’d watch the footage and realized- we’re hilarious! We then started interviewing random people on camera that we’d meet in the places we visited. We went to places like Orlando, Chicago, Vegas, L.A., etc and had so much fun. We eventually compiled all this footage into a mini episode and pitched it to the E! channel after worming our way into their offices. Their director of programming told us it was one of the most creative things she had ever seen but didn’t have room in their lineup for it. Oh did I mention about nine months later they had a travel show suspiciously close to our pitched show? Moral of this story is don’t do unsolicited pitches! But the experience was one of the most fun things I have ever done. But I did get my on-camera experience last year when my kids and I were extras in a zombie movie they filmed by my parent’s house!

You’ve moved around a lot. What do you do to make new friends and put down roots for your family when you make those changes?
Having kids makes it easy to make friends. Kids make the best friend-pimps! When your kid plays with another kid you usually start talking to the mom. Sometimes you really hit it off. Most of my friends in town are parents of my children’s friends. It was difficult to feel rooted to Indianapolis. We lived their for 10 years and it never felt like home. It was easy to leave Indy to come to Plymouth. We’ve lived in Plymouth now for a little over 3 years and it became home very quickly because of the friends we’ve made, the great neighbors we have, and a great school system and community. My husband recently got a promotion across the state and the thought of leaving Plymouth is heartbreaking. The town itself is like a friend.

The Phyllis Family

You made a big change in your professional life, going from a career in publishing to the 24-hour a day job of SAHM. What has that meant to you?
When I worked full time I never thought I could be the domestic type! I loved my job. Working in a creative field with great people made me very happy. But something just clicked when I had my daughter Tallulah. I wanted to stay home and raise her. It has been such a fun experience and I have never had a single regret. I’m not happy every single moment of every day, but I am happy every day. There were times that I wish I had more money for fancy vacations or a new car but I never wanted these things as much as I wanted to be home. Another SAHM friend and I were recently discussing the fact that our youngest children were starting kindergarten this upcoming fall and her feelings summed up exactly what I was feeling- I couldn’t possible have spent more time with my children but it still doesn’t feel like enough! They grow up so fast and I’m so blessed to have spent the time with them. But, I am really looking forward to returning to work and starting the next chapter of my life when Tanner starts kindergarten!

Describe your family: There’s me, my husband Reid, my daughter Tallulah (7), my son Tanner (5) and my dog Butter. We are a crazy, fun and loving bunch.

What does the first hour of your day look like? I wake up at 6:45am, get the kids up, get them fed (cold cereal of course!), dressed, teeth brushed, etc. I then run downstairs and (sometimes) have time to brush my teeth and get dressed before taking them to school. I have been known to run my daughter to school in my jammies on a day I forgot to turn my alarm on.

The last hour? Before my husband started working out of town, the last hour of my day was spent on the couch watching tv and getting a foot rub. I am not kidding- I got an hour foot rub Every. Single. Night. Now with him gone in the evenings I just run on the treadmill, shower, watch a bit of tv and go to bed.

What makes you feel successful? Helping others makes me feel successful. I recently did some volunteer work for an event in town that was for a local charity. I felt proud that I was doing something that was helping other people live a better life. And I forgot how much pleasure it gives me to tackle a project and complete it successfully.

What brings you joy? The Beatles. Halloween. A fresh salad in the middle of winter. A good bikini wax. Magazines. Brain-candy/trashy/chick-lit books. Having parties. Going to the beach. Duran Duran concerts. Star Wars. Seeing a friend’s number on caller ID. Baking goodies for friends and neighbors. Going to the movies. Hanging out with Reid. Spending time with my delightful, wonderful kids.

What women do you admire? My friends Lisa, Rachel, Stacie and all others that can balance work/school and home life. I feel like some days I can’t keep my head above water. The fact that they can do it all just amazes me.

What do you like best about being with your friends? I like that when I am with my friends I am not a wife, I am not a mother, I am just crazy, imperfect ME. That person sometimes gets a little lost in my day-to-day routine.

What do you like best about yourself? Nothing. Everything. I don’t know how to answer this.

What advice would you give boys about girls? Stay away from my daughter!!

How do you overcome adversity? I just keep going. This has been a tough year for us. But every morning I wake up and realize it’s a new day and a chance to start over.

How do you want to be remembered? As a good-hearted wife, mother and friend who loved life. Someone who was not perfect but tried to do the best she could.

About the outside lane

Happy. That about covers it.
This entry was posted in Women Worth Knowing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Women Worth Knowing: Meet Phyllis

  1. Pingback: WWK Update « The Outside Lane

  2. Stacie says:

    I agree with your decision in choosing Phyllis as a woman worth knowing. I’ve known her since the 6th grade and she has always been such a cool, down-to-earth chick. I am also grateful that you highlighted someone who has chosen to be a stay-at-home-mom. We sometimes don’t get a lot of credit for that! I am proud of you Phyllis!!

Leave a Reply

