Free is GOOD!

Starting this week, Jamie from A Dash of Domestic will be joining us on Fridays with tips and advice on home economics–you know, the class I never took, but absolutely should have. Jamie raises domestic engineering to an art form, and I think you’re going to enjoy her.

By Jamie from A Dash of Domestic

When Lane asked me to write a weekly post for the Women Worth Knowing website, I was so excited! I love sharing information with people about domestically inclined issues.

Who am I?

My name is Jamie. I’m a wife, a mother, and a coupon clipper. I am a stay at home parent, a frugal shopper (watching the sales, stocking up on items I use a lot when they are on sale), and using coupons helps me make the most of our single income. I’ve got a wonderful life, a loving husband and two fantastic children.
Using coupons and shopping sale prices has allowed me to cut my grocery bill nearly in half. A few years ago…I paid $700 plus a month on groceries. Now I spend about $400 a month. I still buy the same types of items, some name brand and some store brand. I still buy about the same amount of food (maybe more), but coupons allow me to pay less.

Some things I get free. Free is GOOD!

From the outside, coupon shopping might seem very time-consuming, right? I’m sure we’ve all seen a coupon shopper with the huge binder full of coupons, if you’re like me then the idea of a school sized binder full of coupons makes your eye twitch. *twitch* *twitch*

Even if coupon clipping (either from the Sunday paper or printed from online sites) is not your thing, depending on where you shop, you might be able to save money by using e-coupons.

If you shop at some stores (like Kroger or Tom Thumb) you can load e-coupons directly to your shopper’s reward card. Using your computer or smart phone you add the available coupons you want to your shopper’s card, shop like you normally would and when you check out, hand the cashier your shopper’s card and SAVE!

Follow these steps to see if your preferred store offers e-coupons.

1. Check the store’s website to see if they offer e-coupons.
2. Check http://www.cellfire.com and http://www.shortcuts.com to see if they offer coupons for your store.
3. Check http://www.coupons.com .
4. add coupons, shop and save.

~~~Things to remember about coupon shopping~~~

*No one’s perfect. I have days where I fail to bring the coupons I needed with me to the store and I buy the items anyway. I buy things that I don’t have coupons for. I buy a lot of fresh food items that usually don’t have coupon offers.

*It’s only a great deal IF you’re going to use it.

Next week I will tell you about coupon stacking and IP (Internet printed) coupons.
Until then, have a Blessed week and Happy saving!

About the outside lane

Happy. That about covers it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Free is GOOD!

  1. Pingback: Shopping with your community in mind… | A Dash of Domestic

Leave a Reply

