A Dash of Domestic: Home Ec with Jamie

Jamie, from Dash of Domestic shares more about couponing this week.

Hello WWK readers, it’s me again, your resident domestic adviser. This week we’re talking about coupon stacking and Internet printed coupons or IP coupons for short. I was going to focus more on IP coupons than coupon stacking in this post, but I believe they deserve equal time.

Most people know what an IP coupon is, but fewer people understand coupon stacking.

Coupon stacking.

It’s about increasing your savings. Using store coupons in concert with manufacturer’s coupons to get the most for your money. Not at all like stacking the deck, because this is not cheating, and no one’s going to take you out back and break your fingers for doing it.

Many stores offer STORE COUPONS. Walgreens has them in their weekly ads, some grocery stores offer them (like Tom Thumb and Albertsons) and Target has printable coupons on their website and sometimes printed coupons in the Sunday coupon section. These store coupons can be combined with a manufacturer coupons for increased savings.

For instance, let’s take the Tide I bought at Target on Wednesday. I had a Target store coupon for $1 off Tide and a manufacturer’s coupon for $3 off Tide, so I got $4 off of my $11 Tide purchase. To see my Target trip this week, click this link

IP coupons.

Internet printable coupons are very popular right now. I see commercials on TV about IPs, I’ve heard radio ads, even Wendy Williams spoke about IPs on her show last week. Don’t ask me why I watch Wendy Williams, I just do.

Many companies offer coupons on their websites. If I buy a certain brand or a certain product, I check the company website for a coupon. After all, it’s easy to check the website while I’m online catching up with Facebook posts.

There are also websites devoted specifically to coupons.

WWW.COUPONS.COM
WWW.SMARTSOURCE.COM
WWW.REDPLUM.COM

There are others, but that’s the three I mainly use.

Sign up with your e-mail address on the websites of the brands you use.

WAIT, WAIT, WAIT!

First go sign up for a free e-mail account at your preferred mail site (like Yahoo) then go to the websites of the brands you buy and sign up for their e-mail list with this spiffy new e-mail address (that way the promotional e-mails won’t clog your real inbox) then you’ll be notified when they have promotions or offer coupons.

Check Facebook, I print coupons from “fan” pages all the time.

Okay, I think I covered it.

Stacking, printing, NEW E-MAIL, signing up, “like”-ing.

That’s it for this week’s post. If you have any questions, please feel free to ask.

Happy saving and have a great weekend.

About the outside lane

Happy. That about covers it.
This entry was posted in Dash of Domestic, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Dash of Domestic: Home Ec with Jamie

  1. Pingback: Shopping with your community in mind… | A Dash of Domestic

Leave a Reply

