Kristin Cooks: An Introduction

Part of my vision with the Women Worth Knowing Project is to share information that we can find useful, from a perspective that is attainable. To that end, Jamie is sharing her tips of Domestic Engineering with us, right now focusing on how to save money with coupons. And now, Kristin is joining us to talk about cooking.

I met Kristin as a coworker, a few years back. She was so kind, and helpful, and she saved me from making a very bad decision about the confusing insurance policies offered at our company. She is another of those wonderful women I’ve been delighted to stay in touch with over time. We even discussed running a little personal chef business. Kristin and my friend Emily being the chefs, me being the driver. No one wants me cooking their food.

That didn’t happen because of me, but if I were going to have anyone in the world cook my dinner, I would call Kristin because I know how much she cares about what she is doing. Without further ado…

Hello there….I’m Kristin. I like to cook. I LOVE to cook. I get excited over baking. If someone would donate to me a lifetime supply of butter, flour, sugar, and all sorts of chocolate, I may be able to quit my job and bake daily. As it stands, this isn’t the case. So, I find myself continuously explaining myself when checking out at the grocery store with 10 lbs of butter! Creating something wonderful to share with friends and family is such a comfort to me….a form of instant gratification. When work goes bad, bills pile up, and the world seems to be turning the wrong direction, I find comfort in following a tested recipe that will give me exactly what I expect.

This is usually the case…. But as recently experienced, not always. About a week ago, nothing would cook right. Fish are about the worst thing you can mess up, everything smells. That happened. I also was successful at both burning and undercooking a single batch of brownies. HOW? I have no clue. But I spent the rest of that week ordering out for dinner and realizing that these kinds of things happen to most people. I realized a lot of people are intimidated by the kitchen, scared of messing up or too tired to find the brain power to think something up. This is why I was excited that Lane asked me to write for WWK.

I have no training in cooking, nothing notable giving me credit to write about cooking….I just have a feeling. I find confidence in the fact that a pizza is only 30 minutes away should I have to throw everything out! I’m happy to get the opportunity to share the ins and outs of my kitchen with you. I am not sure where these postings will go, but I thought I would start by sharing a list of spices that I always have on hand. Pretty much any combination of these creates a decent flavor for meats (chicken, beef, pork, fish, shrimp) and even vegetables. I try to make our dinners consist of a meat, a starch, and a vegetable. Having these spices allows me to create something easy and last minute without having to find a recipe.

Olive Oil, Salt, Pepper, Garlic Powder, Onion Powder, Cumin, Rosemary, Thyme, Basil

Heres an example: Chicken seasoned with salt, pepper, and rosemary paired (sprinkle chicken with seasoning and bake in a little olive oil over a medium heat skillet) with garlic brown rice and roasted basil zucchini (wash and cut zucchini into ¼ inch coins, toss with a tbs of olive oil and a sprinkle of basil and salt; bake in the oven or in a medium heat skillet).

Something simple that takes less than 30 minutes to prepare, and doesn’t have to come from a box! Try it out this week, and share with me any combinations you come up with!

About the outside lane

Happy. That about covers it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kristin Cooks: An Introduction

  1. Amy says:

    It’s comforting to know even a wonderful cook has off days!!! The chicken/brown rice/zucchini sounds yummy and easy!!!

Leave a Reply

